Telephone Poles

19 September 2012 § 2 Comments

I could count the colours on your face,
Like you were a tar-browned, staple haven.
Piercing the branches in your uncouth rising,
Strong in all but fiercest storm (we all snap
once in a while.)

You shift and sort conversations like a sieve,
Dropping names and lines into simultaneous spaces.
I have run along your wire, my words dancing
Like spiders on skin, squirrels with electric goosebumps.

I could count the colours on your face,
Made of postings from your momentary friends,
Permanently pock-marking your weather carved cracks
While hues run with the watermarks of rain.

I will save them all, classifieds and lost & founds,
Sitting on the highest shelf I can reach
To make sure I look up to you. Your silhouette
Shoulders birds. And, well, I’ve always been
A little flighty.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Telephone Poles

  • slpmartin says:

    I love the phrase “momentary friends”…one could easily write an entire poem around that them…enjoyed your poem much.

    • Rebecca Garrett says:

      I wasn’t sure that phrase conveyed what I intended it to, but I’m quite glad you liked it! Interpretation is the beauty of poetry. (:

share your thoughts

What’s this?

You are currently reading Telephone Poles at phoenix loves.

meta

