Perspective and the Difference Between

The difference between knowing yourself
and making yourself know is like
a sunset and a sunrise;
opposite ends of the same tide
bent backwards to almost touch
but never really reconcile.
Like talking aloud in a world
where intent walks miles,
different paths in different minds and
silence is the easy way out.
You talked about faith, but I kept quiet.
I’m not sure how you’d define mine.

It’s the difference between something foreign
and something I own. Subtle, like
a train passing blocks away and sounding horns
compared to the one shaking the rafters
unannounced out by my front door.
When I was young, I wanted to be bold,
but I am timid now. I think this is
the difference between knowing yourself
and making yourself know.

2 thoughts on “Perspective and the Difference Between

share your thoughts

