I Hoped to Never See You Last

28 January 2014 § 1 Comment

-
this is an old poem, written a few months ago. it could be considered mildly disturbing. i’m sharing it now to try to break the dry spell. hopefully, i’ll be posting new works soon.

Even in deepest sleep
Your eyelashes are
The bristles on the backs of flies,
To sense the slightest touch
And whisk you away.

I want them, to excise them slowly
With tweezers so rusted,
They creep shut
And dust your lids with orange.
To pull them out-
Like teeth from rotting flesh-
Dead roots from muddy earth,
The slurps and squelches
Satisfactory.

I would build a structure
Of wishes out of them,
A scaffolding stuck together
With the salt I found
Hydrated on your cheeks.

When I have cried you dry
And the wind follows flies
And sends your lashes off one by one,
I will count them as they go.
Counting on one (middle) finger
Where I hope you’ll end.

§ One Response to I Hoped to Never See You Last

share your thoughts

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Hoped to Never See You Last at phoenix loves.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

